The most attractive tourist offer of Zaprešić are its many mansions and palaces. Here we must mention the New Jelačić Palace, a unique monument of cultural and historic heritage only 1,5 km from the town centre (some 20 km from Zagreb). The Palace is a unique example of well preserved complete manorial estate.
In 1855 Jelačić built a neo-Gothic chapel of St Joseph on a meadow next to the Palace. When in September of 1855 his nine month old daughter Ana suddenly died in Bohemia, her body was laid in a vault inside the chapel. Later the remains of the ban Jelačić (16th May 1859) and his brother Antun (1875) were buried inside the same chapel. When in 1991 works began on the restoration of the chapel, the remains were temporarily moved to Mirogoj, and in 1992 finally laid in the renewed family vault. The sculptor I. FRANZ made this neo-Gothic family vault of white stone (brought from the Cathedral after the earthquake that severely demolished it) in 1884 according to the design of architect H. Bollé. The Count Đuro Jelačić had it made because this was his brother Josip’s final wish.
Ban Josip Jelačić had all of the estate and castle reconstructed and annexed. In its east wing the Palace was extended by 18 m, the upper level was redecorated along with the cellar and the façade. A beautiful promenade surrounds the Palace.
The antiquities and husbandry of New Palace as a whole include the Palace, chapel of St Joseph, the family Jelačić vault, gardens, orchard, residential and service rooms, vegetable garden, arable land and forest-park. Curia nova, New Palace is first mentioned under this name at the end of the 16th century when it was in the possession of the Zrinski family, owners of Susedgrad (Old Palaces). However a valid court document from 1852 says that the Palace was built in 1611 as an ordinary one-storey kurija mainly made of wood.
Owners of the New Palace were the Zrinski, Čikulin, Sermagei, Festetić and the Counts Erdödy families. It was the Erdödy family that sold the estate to ban Jelačić in 1851. The Palace was bequeathed to the Croatian people by the daughters of Đuro Jelačić, Anka and Vera in 1934.
Preserved and partly restored outbuildings, offices and service rooms are another asset of the New Palace. The circular threshing machine is the only and the oldest object of that type in Croatia, it comes from the 17th century and is the monument of zero cathegory. Former crops storage facility, a three-storey granary was reconstructed in 1987 and turned into a Gallery, today Museum of Matija Skurjeni. It displays permanent exhibition of a prominent naive artist Skurjeni, and a historic photo-exhibition “The New Jelačić Palace”.